Retrospect : Don’t Look Back in Anger

From Pocket Oxford Dictionary :

retrospect  n. in retrospect when looking back. [from *retro-, *prospect]

retrospection  n. looking back into the past.

retrospective  — adj. 1 looking back on or dealing with the past. 2 (of a statute etc.) applying to the past as well as the future. — n. exhibition, recital, etc. showing an artist’s development over his or her lifetime. retrospectively adv.


It has almost 4 months since I created this webblog. The main reason I created the blog is that I’ve had a tremendous moment when my harddrive got troubled and then I lost my energy-consumed-so-important-data, a lot of huuuge data – ps : I had 850MB, 2,5GB, 20GB, 40GB, and two 80GB harddrives – third times!!!. Trust me, it was so frustating that will make you insane for a couple of days or weeks. I did.

Well I know you may think that I was too lazy to burn them into a cd or dvd, but it was too complicated for me to burn them into a disc without categorizing the will-burned-file first. Believe me, categorizing files that would be burned is a time-consuming activity. You could burn a lot of files into a disc without categorizing it, the hell with category. But when in times you need a (I mean A) file, and there’s about 800 cd’s – and some of them are dvd’s – well, be my guest, you search it on your own, nobody could barely help you. 

These reasons that are make me store a lot of data on the harddrives, waiting to be burn until that type of file is reach a disc quota, approximately 650MB for CD or 4Gb of video files for dvd.

But when the disaster came, BANG! I lost my partition for no reason, or accidentally deleted/overwrite the files. It really makes my day! dooh, and I’d gone in mad, very mad. 

So, here we come to the days of WEB generation 2.0, and webblogs that are almost there on every corner of the net. I guess that it would be my online storages for my public files. So this is it, The Digital Enquirer emerge to fulfill such a need. 

For all of you that is facing the same trouble that I encounter, well you’re not alone, I’m here to help. You know that every cloud has a silver lining, now I know how to maintain my harddrives and cd’s or dvd’s. I still have my old-timer 850MB harddrive works, yes it’s still working, It’s a Quantum Trailblazer!. It’s sad that the producer of the drive is out of business. Now I rely on Seagate, since I rarely face any trouble with the drives. I don’t recommend to use Maxtor. My other 20GB Maxtor is out of business.

Now I know and you know that where there’s a will there’s a way.

2 Comments to “Retrospect : Don’t Look Back in Anger”

  1. do you know any information about this in english?

  2. Dear Dil Okullari,
    There are a lot of good pages that inform us to understand Data Loss and Hard Drive Failure. But as a start I suggest to go to http://www.deepspar.com/wp-data-loss.html, it’s a white paper that tell us about Data Loss and Hard Drive Failure : Understanding the Causes and Costs.

Leave a Reply

